Close Home Forum Sign up / Log in

Why are you doing your PhD?

P

Hi Losti

Ok, here's explaining the differnece with time. Here is my account, on Thursday night, of my view of the PhD, at a moment of wiped out fatigue and feeling horrid. (Purpose: I hope to come and edit this post the next time I feel rested/different, and we'll see the change)

1. I am doing my PhD because I see I am doing my PhD.
2. I am told I have made brilliant progress in 1 yr, that my CV is growing apparently in leaps, I have a phenomenal supervisor and apparently I write with rich metaphors and speak 'melifluously'.
3. Ok. great. I am FT, I have 3 jobs for 3 days of the week, I have my sup as my emploter on 2 of those jobs, plus my co author/presenter for stuff, plus as the career mentor person. I am ambitious and demanding and rushed. And poor. Very.
4. I earn a lot of money with the jobs. The jobs go on my CV. the money goes in my bank to come out and pay 13000 quid tuition fees. Plus rent. I am poor. But, international eucation isnt my birthright, it is my luxury, it is another matter that I am earning it, for even scholarships from my uni cant cover it.
5. I am told, 3 jobs plus a full time PhD means I need to not try and publish and present while doing a 3 yrs PhD. I refuse to do that, for writing/presenting are my loves, and if my jobs take it out of me, I wont let them.

6. RIght about now, I want to take 3 weeks off, quit all 3 jobs, go and eat and sleep for a month.

Why am I doing my PhD? I effing don't know, I don't care, and I am aware that I wouldn#t say the word 'effing' unless I didn't really effing feel it.

I will edit this post on another occasion, to add another chunk of text. With one aim: TO give you empirical evidence of the 'rollercoaster ride' we all say the bloody PhD is.

L

Hi Lostinoz.
I had replied to your post about the "Q" word. Here is why I decided to do My PhD;
1. Interest in the subject
2. My chosen career path required a PhD
3. The money is reasonable