Advice on starting a MSc with linked PhD

W

This year I will be studying with a Doctoral Training Centre on one of the 1+3 year MSc/PhD combos.
They are sending me the set pre-course books that I have been given chapters to work through (so I figure know that and academically I am prepared), however I wonder if there is any advice that anyone can give me to ensure that this first MSc year is a successful and enjoyable time.

I am used to juggling my time as I currently work full time, have a family, and am also doing my BSc in the evenings, so I'm not too worried about becoming a full time student and managing the work load. However as a mature student I only know life from the distance learning prospective so would love any feedback from those who are students in their 'day job'.

Cheers in advance for any advice.:-)

E

My MSc (similarly 1+3 but not at a DTC) was extremely intense. With hindsight, I wish I had enjoyed it more, and stressed less. There was a huge amount to cover and I got very worked up about it. I wish I had taken the opportunity to explore many different areas and work out what to do for the PhD without getting in a tizz about the grades and the work and so on.

You sound pretty good at time-management (a real weakness of mine) - best of luck, enjoy!

ejc

B

I did my Masters after a distance-learning OU degree. I was a part-time Masters student at my local university, but there was very little practical day-to-day difference between the full-timers and myself. We all had to attend taught seminars, and submit essays etc. (I was doing a history taught Masters). The only difference was they had to squeeze their final research project and dissertation into one summer, whereas we were given much longer. There was very little at-uni time needed, apart from the core taught events, and extra time to pick up library books etc.