AS or 2nd BS for Maters in a completely new field

S

Good Morning,

I have a BS in professional studies which is basically a degree encompassing various courses coupled with professional experience. I am extremely interested in the field of cyber security. My current line of work, in which I hold an executive position, as well as my degree, have nothing to do with cyber security. My question is:

Should i enroll in an associates course in cyber security in preparation for a graduate degree in this field? Or, do I need to get a second BS?

Thank you in advance.

A

Go straight for a MSc.

H

I'm not a computer scientist but I imagine cyber security would involve a fairly programming/algorithm heavy component. Therefore unless you have some background in maths/engineering/computer science from your BSc, you may struggle.

I would contact the course organisers of each MSc you're interested in and ask them whether your current background is appropriate, and for recommendations of what you might want to consider doing as prep. A full BSc may be unnecessary, but they may be able to point you in the direction of appropriate foundation courses.

S

Thanks for the replies. I've been out of school for 15 years and math was never my strongest subject. There's no way I could pull off going straight into an MS program right now. I'm wondering if an associates degree would prime me up to be able to succeed in the MS program (and also increase my chances of getting accepted)

A

What is your goal? To move into security or are you simply interested personally?

I work in IT so have a fair amount of experience with security and what are the requirements.

S

Quote From AOE26:
What is your goal? To move into security or are you simply interested personally?

I work in IT so have a fair amount of experience with security and what are the requirements.