Dissertation - Using Secondary Data from Various Sources

J

======= Date Modified 09 Jul 2011 10:13:10 =======
I am a distance learning student and have been juggling full time work with my program. Its been tough at times but I am now at the dissertation stage and have only 7 -8 weeks to complete my work due to no real fault of my own (only got the go ahead mid June to submit first week September). I have done a decent amount of reading in the build up to that but supervision is a bit thin at the moment, only worsened by my distance from the institution.

Basically, I need to know if it is acceptable to tackle my research questions by accessing/referring to secondary data from a variety of sources (as my research topic spans issues in 2 very different countries). I need some guidance with fashioning my research methodology as I feel the only option I have now is to refer to data from existing reports and other publications in providing answers to my research questions. I had initially planned to do some structured interviews in both countries but that seems to have gone out of the window now given my serious time constraints.

Any guidance/direction will be highly appreciated.

I

Hi, John,