Driving myself absolutely mad - waiting for undergraduate results

N

I have an offer for an MSc that I can't wait to start, and want to do a PhD afterwards, hopefully at the same university. Everything has gone well up until this point - with the marks I already have I average at a 1:1 but I am just so worried about getting my results, and I have to wait until early July. My tutors seem hopeful and I've really been trying for a first, but I am so worried about not getting it, its all I am thinking about. What's worse is that I'm worried about one of my assignments that I found really difficult to write and think I messed up, even though I did what my tutor advised and discussed the whole essay with her as I was writing it.

I know a 2:1 would be good but I will probably be disappointed with that, I am a real perfectionist and I would probably feel as if I had let myself and my tutors down. I know I just have to put it to the back of my mind and wait for the letter but I'm seriously finding it so difficult, I keep trying to speculate and thats not helping either, its becoming a bit of an obsession and stopping me from sleeping, eating properly, and enjoying the first few weeks of my summer. I have started to do a bit of reading for my MSc course as I really need to succeed in this, not a lot only an hour max a day but I feel like I'm tempting fate by doing that.

Is it 'normal' to be like this when waiting for undergraduate results, how can I try to take my mind off it? I have plenty to keep me occupied but this is really driving me mad, and I'm getting fed up with myself, and I'm worrying that people are getting fed up with my constant panicking. Any advice really appreciated, Natassia x

P

Ahh... welcome to academia!