final paper problem

N

Hello,

my name's Natalie and I've got a huge problem considering my MA final paper in American Studies. I had few ideas, but they were all turned down by my mentor. I was (in fact still am) interested in American animated TV shows (The Simpsons, Futurama, Family, American Dad, Daria) and how they reflect political and cultural events in the US (current and past), American celebrity cult as well as adolescence culture (esp. GenY and their egoism combined with mild/major dosage of narcissism). I'm not looking for specific topics, that's not the point of this message. What I am looking for are just ideas that could, well, inspire me.

Note: If you consider my message inappropriate, or simply dumb, please keep it to yourself. I am serious about this throwing-ideas-at-me thing and do not need people telling me I am stupid or naive for doing so. I already know how desperate it is.

Thank you,

Natalie

S

No idea if this is what you're looking for (I am a scientist/engineer!) but I've always thought it strange that most of these shows get run on Fox, which is largely conservative and/or republican and yet have very liberal ideas, tend to poke fun at the right and tend to be written by democrats. Are there any more right wing/conservative cartoons (maybe there are but they never reach the UK so I don't know about them) and if not, why not? After all, half the population votes that way.

Sorry if this isn't at all what you're after (if you could let me know a short answer then that'd be good though!).

K

Hi.