I going to climb a mountain!

M

At 52, I am about to start my long delayed MA. I graduated 30 years ago and since then 'life' got in the way, marriage, 5 children, elderly parents...

Now it is 'my time' and instead of waving my children off to university, they will be waving me off, as I move away from home to live on campus. Not quite sure if I am brave or insane, I am definitely full of trepidation. I wonder if I will cope, adjust, manage to meet the demands of academia, will I be taken seriously by other post-grads, will I be seen as everyone's granny - get the picture?

I am sure I will be on a sharp learning curve, so wonder if anyone has words of wisdom, to help me through the early days?

S

hi Maimhambo
welcome to the forum! and welcome to your new adventure!
Have a wonderful start!!!!

Don't worry, nobody will see you as their granny.
You might even meet other students who are older than you.
52 is not old.
100 years old, now that's old.

Just take a deep breath, smile, hug yourself and go all out and get your MA!!!!!

this looks like something you want to do for yourself, why not, just go for it
you'll be fine

love satchi

B

Age shouldn't be an issue. There were lots of older students taking the Masters course that I did, and all got on well with the younger students, and everyone was on an even-footing.

Then again most people didn't have to stay on campus. I studied at the large university in the city where I live, and some of the students were part-time, often juggling study alongside work.

But don't worry about fitting in. And have a great time!

D

I wouldn't worry too much about age difference as there are a lot of students returning for a masters at a later stage of their lives.