I need to find something to publish

E

Hello fellow students.

Hate to introduce myself with asking for something but it's the usual way on the internet.. and I was wonder if I could ask your advice.

One of the requirements of my career change is that I need to be actively publishing. Well, being keen I've spent yesterday and today looking into this and I'm a bit confused.

Firstly I checked the status of journals to see which I should aim at and come up with various definitions of what appears to be the same thing i.e. ISI ranking, ISJ, IS and IF...so still no better off deciding which to apply to....

Secondly, is it better to watch for calls of papers to decide what to write? This is my first attempt at going throught the motions of attempting the whole publishing thing but I need a goal to aim for so know I'm on the right track.

All suggestions appreciated (within reason ,-)

R

Perhaps it would be worth you thinking about how your own research topic fits into the focus taken by journals primarily used within your discipline/subject area? I assume from your post that you're part of the way through a masters, so presumably you have an idea about how your work or dissertation topic would be located within current journals and research in that field. Look at journals in your area, think about how whatever you're doing would mesh with that academic focus. Who are the people on the editorial boards of the journals you're interested in? Are they people you would like to be peer reviewed by or published alongside? Read the guidelines for submission for journals you're interested in. If there is a call for contributions that fits your topic, that's great if it's going to be part of a themed issue, but if your research is relevant to that publication's remit then you could submit any time.