Scholarship with a 2:1?

R

Hello folks. I'm only in my second year at the moment, but I'm looking into the postgrad business early. I'll be honest, I don't expect to get a 1st, but I do expect to get a 2:1 in International Politics from Aberystwyth.

I've been looking into doing a Middle Eastern Studies postgrad course, or something with significant international merit, but everywhere I look the Scholarships require 1st class honours degrees...

Aside from the Career Development Loan, is it actually possible for somebody with a 2:1 to get any decent form of funding within a well established university? I mean at the moment I was looking into St Andrews, Sheffield, Kings, Warwick, Edinburgh... and Oxford for a laugh, but I just cant seem to find any decent form of funding!

J

I got a 2i and Edinburgh uni accepted me! I also have many friends who got 2i's and also have fully funded positions. (as long as it is a good 2i, ie >65%)

R

Well thats quite pleasing to know. Do you remember what particular form of funding you applied for?

J

personally my funding came from a charitable funding organisation for animal welfare studies, but my friends have funding from BBSRC , NERC - we are doing PhD's in the biological sciences (mostly animal behaviour). It may be very different for Arts and Humanities etc...The uni's you mention are difficult to get into because competition is high...but I really doubt you would be ruled out because you have a 2i
Best of luck
x

S