should i switch masters

M

Hi

I'm a week and a half into my masters course studying political and the mass media. I stayed on at my undergrad institution, where i completed my BA in english and communication studies.

I know its early days and i'm not in the swing of studying yet but i am having a lot of doubts about whether to stick with this course. I suppose its an anxiety provoking period, returning to academia a bit rusty, having enjoyed a long, relaxed summer break. I feel i am not that interested in a lot of areas of politics. The things i have read thus far seem kind of boring.

There is another masters course, politics and film (every MA in this dept has an element of politics in it), which i would perhaps find more interesting, and i know it is possible i could transfer to. I studied a number of film modules at undergrad which i enjoyed and did well in. My goal is to achieve a distinction, and clearly if one is more passionate about a subject it should translate in improved results.

I chose my current MA as i thought it would be a more rounded option, which perhaps would not restrict me opportunity wise, in the same way a film masters would.

Advice welcome.

N

Hi - like you I've just started my MSc at the same university, really like it so far but I can totally understand the doubts you are feeling. This is a scary time and it will take a good few weeks to settle in, even though you're in the same place and will know some of the staff, it is totally different. I'm finding it quite difficult to get back into the swing of studying and have a few other stressful things going on, but hopefully things will work out in the next few weeks.