What are my chances of getting funding???

V

Hi all,
I graduated in 2009 with a First in English and I've now decided that I'm committed to Postgraduate study. My aim is to do my PhD so I'll be looking to get onto a Masters (research track) - hope that's the correct terminology!
Basically I would like to get an idea of how likely I am to receive funding from the AHRC. Do most students receive funding or do most self-fund? Like a lot of students, the idea of self-funding a PhD fills me with horror, so I just want a rough idea of what to expect...

Thanks in advance for any advice! It's much appreciated. :-)

C

======= Date Modified 03 Jun 2010 17:16:50 =======
======= Date Modified 03 Jun 2010 17:13:01 =======
The odds of getting AHRC funding in the humanities are very slender. When I first applied for the AHRC for a PhD in 2006 the odds were something like 22% of applications got funded at my institution. I did not secure funding the first time and applied again the following year and got the AHRC doctoral funding for 2 years. I was fortunate to get money for the last year from a German funding body that required moving overseas.

I would strongly advise against self-funding a humanities PhD. I found it stressful enough in my first year - yet alone self funding for 3+ years. it was very difficult to pay bills and eat properly and even though I worked 30 hours a week for money whilst doing a full time PhD I still had to pay off the MA loan that I took out for my self-funded MA. It was an utter nightmare. I have psoriasis for months and lost a lot of weight. Not good.

Yes, one can love their subject - but in a pragmatic sense self-funding a humanities PhD to the tune of tens of thousands of pounds could be a phyrric victory. Year pass, money spent - and in this market one might be better with the work experience.

Base your judgement on the following: if you had to pay for your own PhD would it still be worth it if you don't get an academic job at the end?