How the hell do I get a normal job?

C

Hi there my fellow academics. I am now doing my third postdoc. In total, I have been a postdoc for three years and a half. I have no chances of getting a permanent position in the near future (i.e., within the next five years). I am getting married next year and I am desperate to find a normal, permanent job. Almost any country is OK for me. I would prefer to find a job in the editorial industry or as a medical writer. However, I am aware of the fact that I can't be too picky given my circumstances. Are you in a similar situation? Have you been in a similar situation in the past? Please share your thoughts or your personal experience.

H

What are your areas of expertise? There may be a wider range of options available to you than you think.

Do you have any experience of medical/science writing beyond journal articles?

I got to two post-docs before leaving for the outside world. I will comment, however, if it hadn't been for a particularly nasty second post-doc with some bizarre personalities then I'd have been happy to push the academic route a little longer as I was enjoying the research component at least.

As Hazy Jane says, your skills may offer you a wider range f options than you think. When you browse job adverts, look at it from a point of view of what jobs you can do. You will realise there are more options than you think.

The hard part is you're a PhD holder entering the real world. The PhD will put some people off. With respect to this, fill up the first page of your CV with works experience and skills, demoting your PhD and other academic qualifications to the second page so "Uni. Uni. Uni." doesn't scream at them from the first page. Taylor your skills on your CV and covering letter to the post you are chasing to appear the ideal candidate for the position and tell the potential employer what they need to hear.