My PhD Story II - that helps you make your decision

G

======= Date Modified 10 41 2009 09:41:46 =======
========== This thread had been moved ==========
============= Edited by a Moderator =============
======= Date Modified 08 51 2009 14:51:49 =======
============= Edited by a Moderator =============
When it comes to the next step after phd. You need a reference from your supervisor(s). Here is the second part of the story.
Initially I was quite difficult to get a job even I performed very well at interview. Sometime, the refusal letter was written very harsh like “we do not have position for you” (implying do not apply us in the future). Guess who was doing things behind me, well, **** *******.
I got my first job after phd eventually because the employer offered me the job first and reference checking subsequently. I got my first postdoc because my new boss had argument with him when he asked for reference. No one who has an independent will would love to work with him.
Guess what, initially he lied to me that this had nothing to do with him. But he had no idea I get stronger and stronger everyday to overcome his hurdle he tried to impose on me.
We have agreed to publish my work. I spent a lot of time to prepare it, and he was never satisfactory. He merely put it aside, and I waited long time for his feedback. Initially he was scare tactic sometime like the papers would not be accepted without him and criticized my work would not be accepted anyway. Most people would say supervisor knew best. He knew best that I could take him out of the equation and applied scare tactic – super cheap!