Speciality a (in under-grad) to b (in post-grad)

H

======= Date Modified 06 57 2010 18:57:25 =======
Hi everyone,

I am sure most of you may have encountered something like that. I am a computing student and completed my under-grad degree in Computing. I like Computing (programming, networking etc. except MATHS). My problem is I would like to pursue further studies (pretty much honest, I love academia and just can't get outta it).

Going to post-grad studies in Computing makes sense since my under-grad was a Computing degree. However, my problem is; it is OK for me to do Computing in Phd but i myself fancy more to psychology or philosophy. To be frank, I would like to dive into either one of both specialty (psychology or philosophy) but everyone says in terms of career Computing is better after my post-grad studies. Some suggested that I have never learned nor done anything regarding to those majors (psychology or philosophy), how would I even be able to write a proposal to get a scholarship. TRUE and I am sort of lost.

Some of my friends say PHD ? Gezz that's Permanent Head Damage. Don't go for something you dun love since you will be doing that for like 4 to 6 years. Go for something you love as it will make you feel better studying.

Can anybody help me out of this ? I am not asking for help to make a decision for me but based on your experience please answer the following questions.

1. You think I'd stand a fair chance of getting the scholarship (fund) and getting into the program if I go for either one of philosophy or psychology ?

2. In terms of career, which would be better ? Computing or the other two I mentioned.

3. Do you have experience something like that ? If so , please share it here and really appreciated.

Thanks all. I know it sounds a bit confusing but please help me out of this.

B