Studying with Aspergers

A

On the off chance I'm not the only one here......

Does anyone else have Aspergers and trying to negotiate Uni modules without telling anyone?

I'm not doing well at all and between my perfectionism, strive set on max full time and lack of clarity from "them" (a.k.a. lecturers) I'm sinking fast.

Anyone else in the same situation who can offer some advice?

K

Hi Anne! Are you an undergraduate or postgraduate? I don't have Aspergers so I can't offer you advice from a personal perspective, but as a PhD student I do some teaching, and I am aware that we have several students with Aspergers on our undergraduate course who are doing well in their studies, so I know it can be done. The other thing I will say is that I suffer from a mental illness (bipolar disorder), and I have found it very helpful to be open with my tutor and supervisors about this- I was a bit worried about telling them because of the stigma surrounding this sort of illness, but they have been nothing but supportive and helpful, and they are aware now of the best way to handle things if I am having difficulties. I also see a university counsellor and a university mental health advisor who have been able to provide both emotional and practical support- I think most universities have this sort of service. I don't know if you feel able to talk to anyone, but I have found that there is a lot of support out there if you speak to the right people...might be worth a try? All the best, KB.

E

Well, I agree with KB. I think that you should tell your uni. They maybe able to offer some help, or even people to talk to. I don't think there is any stigma attached to any difficulties a student may have.
Personally, I don't have Aspergers but I have been working with young children (much younger that you) who have it, so in a way I know what you are talking about....
Best of luck,
Emmaki

A

Hello KB and Emmaki