1 4 the ladies? Is Primark dressing female research students.

P

This is a non-academic post, but I have noticed today there is a high rate of casual references to Primark on this forum.

As research and poverty go hand in hand I have come to rely on my local branch as the major source of my wardrobe updates, as I can splash out on a whole new outfit for £10. Someone recently told me that they are one of the most unethical retailers on the high street at the moment - in terms of dodgey production & sweatshops. Is this true?

I have gone from a high paid salary to being a self funded student &I just wanted to ask how do people cope with not having any money for "stuff"?

J

I have never heard of primark. what is it? I feel richer than I ever have. When i did my degree I was living on a 1/3 of the money I have now. I took a year out and got a job and that job paid less than I'm getting now.

With my stipend I can afford to rent my own flat and buy nice stuff. I don't know why people moan about being poor. I feel loaded!

J

my stipend is never enough

J

*looks at his credit card bill and cries*

J

tkmax reminds me of a jumble sale. Loads of random stuff all lumped together!

S

Tkmax requires too much patience, i get annoyed enough at uni when i can't find what i want. I normally shop at next or topman.

What are you doing in primark danb? i thought that was a birds shop

J

i definitely go to Primark before anywhere else. Ethical standards...those hardly cross my mind as a broke student. Even tho they did, why on earth would I spend £30 on a pair of jeans in next when i can get it in Primark for £8?? or £22 on a swimsuit in BhS when I can get it in Primark for £4. I really don't think research students have a choice when they find themselves in Primark. If i couold afford it, i'd go to GAP, Next etc, but i need money to have a decent social life so.. i save on everyelse...clothes included. :)

P