1st ever PhD interview and nervous as hell

T

Hello everyone!

I'm new to this forum, so please bear with me! I am currently a MSc student studying Neuroscience and am about three-quarters of the way through my course. I've been applying for PhDs constantly since i finished my bachelors finished, and have been rejected at least 20 times so far, without an interview.

I could understand that because, well, a lot of people have much, much more experience than me and more qualifications, and have been trying a lot longer, so i have no right to complain, really.

The thing is now i finally have a PhD interview at UCL and this will be the first academic interview i've done in a long time! The PhD is neuroscience-related and to do with drosophila melanogaster, which is what i'm currently working with on my master's research project. I can't tell you how well suited this PhD is to my interests and my current research work- i want this PhD very badly.

I know i probably have a lot less experience than whoever the other candidates are, but I do have a 1st in my undergrad and some experience directly relating to the PhD in question. Do i have any chance at all? Does anyone have any interview tips that may help? Has anyone here applied for a PhD at UCL? Please, I need some help and advice!

My interview is on the 21st of May.Thank you for your help.

A

Well done on your interview. Sadly, I can't immediately help as I have no expertise in your field, but I would also recommend that you try on The Student Room post graduate forum, as lots of UCL applicants/ offer-holders seem to post there regularly.

T

Quote From ampm:
Well done on your interview. Sadly, I can't immediately help as I have no expertise in your field, but I would also recommend that you try on The Student Room post graduate forum, as lots of UCL applicants/ offer-holders seem to post there regularly.