4th year blues

M

Hello! I'm new here. I'm in my 4th year of the PhD and am feeling demotivated. I do find my research topic interesting but a lot of the time I also doubt if my work is good at all and if it's worthwhile. I'm also a big procrastinator and can sit at the desk all day without getting much done, though there are days when I'm in the "zone" and I get lots done. My supervisor is not particularly supportive. I hardly see him and he seems to be more interested in/busy with his other work/students. His comments on my work so far are not very critical and I always fear that when it comes to my viva (which will be ages and ages away) I'll be told that my work is rubbish. It doesn't help that recently a lot of my friends who had started at the same time as me have submitted. Of course I am genuinely happy for them, but a part of me also feels like such a loser. I know I shouldn't compare to other people but sometimes I can't help it. I keep these feelings to myself though as I don't want to upset anyone. I'm also fed up with being asked when I"m finishing by friends, new people I meet, my family, my partner's family etc etc. Eventhough I've accepted the fact that I'm not finishing anytime soon I really don't enjoy explaining it to people. Moneywise it's not great either as my funding was only for 3 years and I am now living on my savings. I do some teaching but get paid peanuts for it. Now with the festive season approaching money is becoming a bigger headache. And I don't even have the faintest idea when I will finish. I still need more data and have a lot more writing to do. I know I will finish it SOMEDAY but am just finding it difficult everyday. My life is consumed with guilt. If I get some work done I feel guilty that I'm still behind and am nowhere near finishing, if I don't get much work done then of cos I feel guilty at the end of the day. I don't usually work in the weekend but sometimes I feel guilty and think may be I should...