8 years as a post-doc and no prospects

T

======= Date Modified 04 Jan 2012 19:21:30 =======
I ran into this forum googling for people in a situation similar to mine. I graduated 8 years ago after a pretty good PhD, went abroad (US), got a fellowship, everything seemed well. But years passed, problems and delays accumulated and I finally left after 4.5 years with no first author publication, in bad terms with my PI, for another post-doc in Canada. A paper eventually came out a year after, but my second post-doc didn't fare better than the first: failed projects, delays and an increasing sense of alienation. I am finally putting the finishing touches on a pair of manuscripts of little interest.
I'm now 8 years after graduation, with no prospect of entering academia (and no will left to fight for it). I have 6 months left on my contract and it feels like a train wreck in slow motion. I'd like to get a job in the industry, but I have no experience, no contact and apparently no skill of any value to a biotech company. I have applied to pretty much any job I remotely qualified for and never got a call back.
I have no idea of what I'm supposed to do. I never had to look for a job. Discussion with my current PI always end up the same: I'm supposed to build a network, but I have never been a people's person and I am completely inept socially. I fell like I am just supposed to roll over and die for not being a natural social butterfly. I could to go home and regroup but I'm stuck here, as my wife won't follow.

B