A day before I quit my PhD

E

Hi, I am an engineering PhD student. Only 6 months into my work. My PhD is in a different area/sector than what I studied (structural engineering). I am not from UK, though I did my MSc 2 years back here so not completely new to the country.

Although I know that these forums are full of quitting threads, I still feel I should try and get all the thoughts out of my head in written form. I will try and give a short background and reasoning for my doubts. Also some overview of how potentially will quitting affect my future. I will try and write in general terms and avoid giving names etc. Hopefully this post will help others in some way and myself as well. Anyway, so here starts my story:

Warning: This thread might actually end up being very long (multiple posts) and potentially unstructured, since I am writing it as I think.