a question about tax/earnings....

Z

I know i could get the answer to this elsewhere, but you guys are so knowledgeable.....
Im a full-time PhD student, but if i earn more than the tax benchmark per annum (i think its currently £5000-something), does everything you earn get taxed, or just anything you earn over that benchmark ammount?
Cheers!

M

The basic allowance for 2006/07 tax year is £5035. This is not taxed. The next £2150 will be taxed at 10%, and the next £2151 to £32,300 at 22%. Bear in mind that any stipend you recieve for your PhD will normally be tax free and not included in these allowances. Such awards are effectively invisble to the taxman.

This may be different if you circumstances allow you to claim any tax credits. You may also have to pay national insurance contributions. Check out www.hmrc.gov.uk for more detailed info.

S

Not necessarily - I was taxed as a full time student

jcgrant31 that is not correct. Full time students are exempt from paying council tax, but not income tax. Students pay income tax at exactly the same rate a non-students in the way that mc2006 says, so if you earn 20 grand a year you will be taxed on roughly £15,000 at 22%.

A

The key thing to note is that bursaries are not taxed, but salaries are, even if you are a full-time student. I did my PhD as a salaried research assistant and paid the normal rate of tax on my monthly earnings (bah!)

A

It doesnt matter if you are a student, a full time worker or a highly trained baboon, it is being an employee that counts. If you are employed then any income (above the limits mc2006 gave) is liable for income tax.

I dont see how you can NOT be paying tax on earned income - anything I have earnt has had tax deducted before I saw any of it. If anyone really is not paying tax on earnings then watch out, the inland revenue will catch up with you sooner or later.

M