Academic Job for Non-Eu

H

Hi

I understand most academic jobs in UK often for "EU" only...

I am not a British citizen but I'm a permanent resident which I don't have any restriction to work in UK.
Does anyone know whether I can apply for "EU only" academic job? It's not normally specified on the job description.

If not, can I assume it's really hard to get an academic job in UK without being a EU citizen?

Thanks

B

Why on earth do you think academic jobs in the UK are EU only, when a quick glance through the staff lists anywhere will quickly reveal that this is not the case? Nearly half my department are non-EU citizens. British academics in fact often feel it's a bit unfair how open the academic job market is here, when this openness is not reciprocated in most other countries! If you have a PhD and excellent publications (as understood by the REF definitions of excellent so basically in good journals) then you stand as good a chance as anyone else (particularly in your case they don't even have to worry about a work permit). However, you need to understand that it is an extremely competitive academic job market with many extremely well-qualified job candidates - it will be a case of whether your application is strong enough, not whether you possess an EU passport or not.

H

======= Date Modified 11 Feb 2012 00:26:56 =======
I think the reality lies somewhere in between your two perspectives on this.

Bewildered, international (non EU) visas have been significantly reduced in recent years, to the concern of some senior academics:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11490403
So yes, departments have a healthy international mix, but many of those academics will have come here before the rules tightened. I don't know if it has become harder to appoint new non-EU people as a result.