Accommodation Edinburgh

L

Hi,

I'm currently a student at Birmingham, but I've been accepted to study for a Ph.D in maths at Edinburgh next year, so obviously I'll need somewhere to live in Edinburgh, I've been told that there is no guarantee that I'll be offered university accommodation as this is prioritized towards Non-EU students, and that I should look for accommodation in the private sector. I just wondered what the best way of going about this was, I mean I take it that it's something every Ph.D student has to do, it just seems a little daunting and I'm not even sure what I'm looking for? Do I look for a shared house and move in with people that happen to have a spare room? Or is there somewhere that I can potentially contact students who are starting next year?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Leigh

G