Accomodation

D

So what are prospective PhD students (holding offers) doing for accomodation when they start. Private flat or postgrad halls? And what are your reasons? Same questions to people who are current or former students too.

This is just an issue playing on my mind and I'm just trying to decide.

Thanks.

D

I always lived in private accommodation and found it worked really well - for me. In my first year of my PhD, the Uni operated a housing open day for prospective postgrad students to meet each other and find places to live. It was really successful and I lived with some great people.

Having not lived in postgrad halls I can't comment on my personal experience. But having visited people who did, I think you would need to think very hard about doing so, especially if you have lived out as an undergrad. It was like walking back into undergrad halls again, lots of noise and mess. But maybe that was just the places I visited.

S

I'm a subwarden in undergraduate halls because, well, I'm poor and need the cheap rent. Thinking about moving to subwardening in postgrad halls in my final year though. It's not bad, free food, no bills and a decent lot of other subwardens to talk to...although we do tend to be a strange lot.

G

Private most certainly. My undergrad halls were awful, messy, noisey not my sort of thing. Would never go back even if it's Postgrad halls.

I like things to be just so, and dishes piled up for days or in the sink, or food being left out really stresses me. In private landlord or letting agency owned places people tend to treat them better, not always as it depends on who you live with. I have decided it is easier for me to live alone so that is the main reason I will not do halls again. :p

J

======= Date Modified 07 Jun 2010 11:19:46 =======