Advice needed - applying for PhDs and in a bit of a pickle!

P

I am wondering if anyone can help me with some advice on applying for studentships, I am in a bit of a mess!

I graduated 3 years ago and was initially offered a PhD at Oxford. But the minute I moved over I didn,t settle and was terrible homesick and had to come home before starting the project.

I don't think I was ready at the time and there were also issues with it being MRC funded and I'm from outside the UK. My supervisor had arranged a lab assistant position for me but there were so many things going wrong for me then I just left abruptly and gave a pretty lame excuse. Yep, you can imagine what the supervisor thought.

I have had a total break from science ever since but for over a year now I've wanted to go back.

But it seems things have changed greatly in the past few years and there are hardly any projects being funded.

I have made a short list of labs that do somewhat interesting research but any listed here that actually offer studentships look like 4 years of hell to be honest stuck doing subjects my heart just isn't with.

I'm wary of emailing my CV off to everyone in case I have to turn down offers like the last time - I think it looks bad.

I am also worried that the only projects I am really into are still in Oxford and the same supervisor is still there.

Oxford also has a much later closing date then the other projects.

I don't know what to do.

I would prefer to go to Oxford but if I apply and wait I run the risk of being stuck out of science for another year. But I couldn't accept a project from somewhere else knowing I might have a chance there.

Should I email the labs I'm half interested in? Or hang on for Oxford knowing they might actually remember me and tell me to jog on?

And if I do email the other labs, should I do it one at a time and wait for a reply or do them all at once and then run the risk of having to turn them down?