Advice Needed Regarding PhD Choices

M

@HazyJane

Thank you for your comments.

You make the essential observation about me not fully experiencing the PhD as of yet. I agree with this, particularly considering that I have only being doing a kind of "foundational" level in which I'm undertaking modules, in order to please the funding body I imagine.

However, I have had two years out prior to the PhD and to be honest I figured that this could of been a possible reason for my lack of motivation. That being said, I think the truth is that I'm a writer, not a reader. I read what I need to read in order to get the job done, its a very pragmatic approach. I won't, for example, go and read something because I find it interesting. It has to have some value to me. Hence, I have been motivated with the assignments I have done this academic year and have garnered really positive results, I just do not feel like I can see myself reading for the best part of 20 months (if I do 12 months research & analysis 2015 - 2016; and 12 months writing, 2016 - 2017) with minimal results (as in completed pieces). I feel that my primary motivator throughout university wasn't to gain knowledge but to get the best grades I possibly could, thus enhancing my potential employability --> Crude, cold and inappropriate material to do a PhD, right?

Another point I must make, to avoid confusion here, is that my degree is not in healthcare. It is in social sciences. I was in healthcare in an administrative capacity only, not a clinical one. In regards to my friend, yes she is very fortunate, especially considering that she has got a job in clinical research with only a social sciences degree. That being said, I did have an interview for a clinical research officer position back in January, which I should of never really got truth be told. As for her obtaining further qualifications, the NHS supports this as you undertake your work and actually provides paid study leave

Thank you again

M

@SimonG