Advice needed!

A

any help would be much appreciated!

I have a BSc in Computer Science, and was working as a web designer- ive now had enough and need a career change badly. Im considering doing a masters, however dont have a clue what would make a good conversion course? Ive looked over the internet, different masters portals, uni course searches, prospectuses etc.

The one that sounds interesting is an MA in town planning- however ive found extremely few jobs for town planners, so there would be little point in doing this surely? Does anyone know any masters which leads to a good chance of getting a job at the end of it? Im based in the UK.

Regards

R

Hi Adam, you say you want a career change but you don't say what you want to do instead. You can't really choose a masters to take you in a different direction until you decide where your interests lie. What would you like to be doing, what areas of work appeal to you?

A

well town planning/rural studes/urban studies/countryside management, but few of these seem to lead to a good choice of employment afterwards!

S

Town planners etc are normally employed by Local Authorities only - given that there are major public spending cutbacks planned, significantly in the provision of local services where Council Tax is not going up then they are cutting back on this kind of thing. There may be some courses that give you work experience and you could use that as a way in, but in the short term future there will be few jobs (but lets face it, thats pretty much across the board!)

J