Advice! Waiting on PhD Interview Results

W

First post on the forum so hopefully someone can help or share advice :)

Went for a PhD interview roughly 3 weeks ago with the university I am currently studying my MSc at. Overall I gave a good interview and said everything I went over prior the interview so was happy with my performance. After the interview I sent an email to the chief supervisor and thanked him for the opportunity etc. and I got a reply almost immediately.

I believe there was 4-5 candidates including myself; two of which are in my MSc class. So I was in class on monday and both them mentioned they received a letter last friday to say they were unsuccessful (the letter was posted on the monday).

I still havent heard anything and I am kind of in limbo here. My biggest fear is that they have offered the position to another candidate and I am second choice incase their first choice cannot accept the offer. If that person confirms then they will let me know that i am unsuccessful.

Is this the way it usually goes or is there still a chance for me?

H

Quote From williamsonj90:

My biggest fear is that they have offered the position to another candidate and I am second choice incase their first choice cannot accept the offer. If that person confirms then they will let me know that i am unsuccessful.

That could well be the case. If so, at least you are still in with a shot. Don't take it personally if you are not the first choice. You wouldn't even be considered as second choice if you were simply not right for the role. So it is a partial endorsement, even if it doesn't lead to your preferred outcome.

I'd suggest applying for some other PhDs in the meantime. It will provide you with a distraction and help you detach from this one opportunity, as well as getting the ball rolling should you need to try again. It's par for the course to go through a few rejections, so don't let it deter you too much.

W

Thanks for the reply.