Am I doing a Masters for the right reason?

K

I graduated last summer and have spent a year saving and travelling. I'm now in the position where I want to do something more constructive, but I don't know what to do. I don't know what I want to work with when the time comes so I find the idea of getting a job daunting. So I thought I'd look into doing a Masters degree. But I wonder if I'm doing it for the right reasons? It would nicely delay that Big Decision on my life by another 12 months, but I wouldn't be doing it to help me out in my chosen career (because I don't know what that 'career' might be). I get the impression that people who do postgrad studies know where they want to go and how the postgrad course will get them there...

I'd love to hear from others on why they went on to do postgrad studies and any advice from those who did a Masters because it is the natural next step in education.

N