Am i worth a PHD?

B

Hello everyone, I am currently pursuing a 2 yr MSC in an engineering field and my background is in computer science. My MSC is quite multi-disciplinary since its in the area of computer vision and also Robotics and sometimes i never think I am really worth to take a PHD. I have not failed any of the exams and so far I am an average student and doing fine and working hard.However, I am still not very confident and would like to know what it really takes for someone to take a PHD and see if I could get my head into that world after my MSC. Kindly, advise me especially current PHD students.

Regards and Thank you in advance.

E

Ben

Have you asked your current tutor/supervisor, and/or any potential PhD supervisor?
I am a distinctly average but hard-working BSc student and I have an offer of a place for next year. I have heard (from the careers adviser at my Uni) that the skills that make you a top-of-the-class undergrad (and presumably also taught-course MSc student) are different from those that you need to complete a PhD, which made sense to me.

However I am not a current PhD student - others might take a different view.

ejc x

S

I think your acreers advisor was right about that. Top grades are often required because competition for funding is fierce - especially in some fields. But that has little to do with what it takes to do a PhD. Good qualities for that would include: stamina, self-discipline, initiative (but not so much you do something crazy without getting advice!), patience (there's a lot of just plodding through and amassing 'stuff'), organisation skills, and perseverence. I guess it doesn't hurt to be smart - but you probably won't be using your smarts a lot fo the time. The kind of student that crams for exams and dosses the rest of the year will find a PhD a real shocker (I was once such a student - but now I'm reformed )

T