An advice from my experience

O

I'd like to say to anyone thinking to quit the phd... don't do it!

I started phd after graduation here in Italy, then I left it after 18 months, because I cannot stand my tutor any more, and because my research group wasn't good at all (yes, I admit I didn't investigate enough before starting it).
Now I have a boring job, as a computer programmer, I pass all my days in an office, and I haven't any possibility to do anyhing interesting, because I haven't any contacts or raccomendations.
So.. follow my advice... don't give up your phd!

S

In all fairness that is only your experience - you can't say you would have been happier if you had stayed in your PhD.

R

Would you consider restarting a PhD?

I presume you earn more now, would that be an issue withholding you? Or are there other factors?

Just curious..

O

because i've no contacts, no references. And I'm already 27. That train has already passed...
I'm angry with my ex-tutor beacuse if she wasn't so unbearable, i could have my phd finished.

P

27? And you call yourself 'oldguy'? And you talk as though all your chances in life are gone? That just sounds downright pathetic and defeatist to me.

Pull your socks up, stop moping about feeling sorry for yourself, and go out and start making some of your own opportunities. Bloody 27 years old and talking about the trains passed already...Piffle!

I

pleased to meet you, 'oldguy'... (Offended, 32)

S

Well at least you didn't self-diagnose yourself with some sort of syndrome.

More seriously, life is very much what you make it so blaming your ex-tutor for everything doesn't carry much weight. Your priority is to get out there and get some work experience (I had to do this after I graduated into a deep recession in an area of high unemployment in the early 90s). The ball is very much in your court. Good luck!

R

Hi Oldguy

I agree with the other students.