Any suggestions?

C

Hi,
I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice. I graduated in 2008 with a 1st class BSc degree. Since then I have been working but not really using my degree as such and decided that I need to push myself again. I'm happiest when I've got something to focus on and I'm kept busy. I am considering doing a PhD but not sure if this is the right route for me, mainly after reading the horror stories on here!!! I'm 24, single and dont have much confidence in myself. I do tend to get drawn into my work, as I'm determined to succeed in what ever I do. Doing a PhD would mean moving away from home, so it would be like a total fresh start, I would have to build new relationships and I would have to work on my time management so that I didnt spend all my time on the PhD ie- still have a life. Is this too difficult to do? ie- is it possible to treat it like a full time job but still work on having a happy life outwith the PhD? Dont get me wrong, I'm willing to put in the work, but guess i jst need the reassurance that i wont become deeply depressed, alone and away from home. Any help would be cgreatly appreciated. Thanks:-)

A

Hello. I have only started my PhD 3 months ago, but here goes. I decided I needed to start a PhD to give myself a push. After my undergrad degree I started working full time whilst following an MSc by research part time. Once I got to the end of my MSc I decided I needed to do the Phd, just because I was sure that my job (or most other jobs...even though related to my studies) would not stretch me as much. Horror stories are inevitable...however do read the positive thread there was on a couple of months back.