Anybody else pregnant??!!

B

That's the big fear, isn't it. If you take time out, you're stuck. But *are* there part-time postdocs? Or do you just have to work full time from then on. (I'm doing my PhD part time, which is great). I spoke to a leading (male) academic at a function a while ago, and he suggested applying for JRFs in preference to standard post-docs, as the terms could be more flexible. Many PhD funding bodies seem to be getting good at coping with pregnant students -- but what happens next? Any pregnant/mums of young children out there as postdocs??

O

Tell me that there are positions out there after you had some time of for bringing up your kids! Please!
I am already at the point of dropping out of my PhD because I think I will not manage with a baby and the attitude here - "24 hour days are just not enough, when I was young and did my PhD we never stopped working" (my supervisor). How do you do it when you have to go to a conference or field work?

L

There are definately women out there who have had a baby during PhD and go on to have a good career. There is someone in my department who did that. Someone pointed out to me though that all the successful women were divorced and they think that as a women you have your relationship, career, children, and your health and it's not possible to have all 4 things, one has to give! I'm not sure if this is true and would like to think you can have it all but I would rather have a bit of a less successful career than compromise on anything else.

D