Approaches to a conference paper

L

Hi guys

I'm due to give a conference paper in a few weeks. I was wondering about other people's approaches to all this conference paper business. I gave my 1st paper in Europe during the autumn and I had planned that paper for months rewriting and rewriting. It was basically an adapted version of the 1st chapter of my thesis and I was within the mindset of "here I am. This is what I do. I am a serious researcher".

The paper I am presenting is a few weeks will be a version of the 2nd chapter of my thesis but I feel completely differently about the conference. I feel like simply presenting as if this is my work-in-progress fellow researchers, what do you think? I guess it's a more informal approach but I feel like I'm trying to find my own feet within a chapter that is moving a little out of my field and I'd like good feedback about it.

My strategy at the moment is simply to introduce myself and my research. State how this separate research field impinges (not that is a quintessential phd word right there!) on my studies. State it's a work in progress and would appreciates thoughts and feedback after. Give the paper. Engage in the panel discussion and hopefully get some thoughts. Hopefully some drinks and chat afterwards.

My point is just that I'm very relaxed at the moment about the experience. I see it more as what can I learn from these experts rather than seeing it as a performance in which I have to prove myself.

A

I suppose it depends on how formal you think other papers might be; will there be other postgrads presenting or will you be one of few among seasoned academics??