Argh, really lost

I started a part time RA role with my supervisor in november. Since then I've done nothing on my PhD. I only do the PT role 3 days a week, but she's actually asking more like 4 and a half days of work from me and won't accept 'well I've done my hours' as an answer - she wants results.

She hasn't spoken to me about my PhD for months and now she suddenly wants to know when my submission date is - erm hello, I have no date! I'm nowhere near finished, I need to write the whole thesis!

So I'm really tired when I finish my RA work, lost on my PhD work. every time I have an 'output' for my PhD it gets left on her desk for months without feedback, so I haven't got any section finished or even drafted well which is so demoralising.

Gah!

Sorry for the rant :-(

has anyone got any tips for actually just getting on and writing sections, I feel so lost at the mo.

B

I think you really need to stick your foot down with your supervisor. If she wants you to do more hours on the RA work she's going to have to pay you to do more hours, and accept you don't have time to do your PhD properly.

Early on in my PhD I was working half-time as a RA (paid, separate contract), along with doing my part-time PhD. And my RA boss was my PhD supervisor. But he was very good at keeping the two separate, and making sure that they didn't cause problems for each other.

As for writing sections, do you have a plan? By that I mean a large structure that you can work within in. If not, don't worry. An alternative approach is to start with writing whatever looks most appealing (or least unappealing!). I also found it very helpful to draw up to-do lists.

I managed my thesis writing on tiny opportunities, snatching an hour here and there, and having no more than 5 hours a week near the end. So it can be done. But you need to get moving.

Good luck!

S

I agree with Bilbo that you need to put your foot down with your supervisor. Does she know how much you are struggling?