Being a smartarse

S

Hmmm, picking through verbal minefields isn't my forte. However, having started all this mess (which has now managed to create a discussion that has offended more people) I would like to add a few points and offer a warning/explanation: I am a politics student and my way of thinking about the world is inherently political.

Firstly, as a point on the original topic, I know her pretty well. Maybe not on the level of close friends, but not strangers and way past a level where I would expect people to get that I'm taking the piss.....having taken the piss out of enough things in her presence.

Secondly, on the whole sexist thing, I really think that some of the responses here reflect the naval-gazing that the feminist debate has come to....in part because of the domination of first world middle class liberal feminists and because of the rise of postmodernism in philosophy. There is now this focus on words rather than the material global reality of female life - there is a focus on how the structure of language and words keeps woman oppressed instead of a focus on the real material factors that afflict the lives of woman every single day.

To relate this back to the topic at hand, is that people appear to be willing to get into a huff about the words used not the meanings intended and what there certainly isn't a huff about is structures that you can literally put your hands on and say "this is sexism!" What's worse, is that sexism, it would appear, is a one way street that exists only when a man says something to a woman. Consider if my joke was made between two women - would anyone be saying that it was sexist? Offensive, yes. But sexist, I don't think so.