Bibliographic software - help!

T

Hi all - sorry for the banal question but I am really stuck. I have been using Endnote for a year and a half and have loads of info on it. However, my laptop (which had Vista) on it died and I bought a new one which has Windows 7 and have now found out that it isn't compatible - aaargh! What can I do? Can I transfer the data to a different program? And if so which one? Thanks for any help.

T

I can't see this post properly - can anyone else? If not, I'll repost.

D

Can you access your endnote account from another compatible computer? If so you will probably be able to export all of the data and save it as a file for importing into another reference software. I use refworks with windows 7 without any issues.

T

Thanks - looks a bit pricey though - do you really have to renew it every year?

D

Refworks is supplied by my uni for the time I am a student, so I don't pay.  If endnote is what your uni supplies then I can see that this is a problem as the upgrade for endnote may not be imminent. There will be lots of other students in this same predicament.  I am sure it won't be long before they have a compatible software. Does your uni supply any other reference software that you could download for free?  I think in your case you either need to change your windows software (arghh!), use another compatible computer for endnote until an upgrade is available or switch to another referencing software. Either way sounds like a real pain.

H

Are you sure it isn't compatible with windows 7? I have windows 7 and have endnote installed, though I don't use it (I prefer Mendeley).

urgh I'm having a right nightmare with endnote and windows 7 and/or office 2010 - it just goes crazy and loads of error messages pop up :-(

Is there a way of exporting all my data to mendeley and it still understanding where I've cited etc without me having to put it all in again??

H