Boundaries - Staff / Students

O

I don't think its a good idea to date your supervisor or tutor or lecturer--just as there are wise cautions against such behaviour in the work place. If you both feel that strongly about the relationship one of you needs to change universities or work places, in my opinion.

B

Hi,

My partner is a senior lecturer, though not at the same university I'm doing my PhD at. Before he met me, he got asked out by one of his PhD students and said no because it was against university policy. Basically, if he dated a student, he could theoretically have lost his job.

There's a lot of turning a blind eye that goes on in terms of this kind of thing, but my parter's university isn't the only one that has a similar no dating students policy - so my advice to yu would be to check out your uni's official line on it before getting involved. Just to be on the safe side. Also, if you're in luck and they don't have a policy on it - means you can do as you like!

E

Hey.

Olivia, I see what you're saying, as rules (unofficial or otherwise) normally exist for good reasons. However, since most of us spend significant amounts of time with other students/academics, it also seems that it should be acknowledged there is room for flexibility providing both parties can be sensible about things.

I don't know how realistic it is to suppress things - tried that by avoiding said academic for most of last term, but now general weirdness has kicked off again. Oh well.

E

Hi Beverley,

I haven't actually found an official policy, as far as I can tell, there seems to be no such thing. I do respect the academic concerned, so would be loathe to place them in an awkward position. However, we all know that these things are rarely rational (?!).