Can a PhD fail with a first author high impact journal paper?

K

======= Date Modified 25 Aug 2012 14:54:31 =======
======= Date Modified 25 Aug 2012 10:22:06 =======
I am a Engineering PhD student, looking to submit my thesis in two months time. I managed a first author paper out in a high impact journal and looking forward to one more. Having said that, my project did not turn out to be a very promising one and although I tried to break away from the trend of the project, I was held back to keep the story 'coherent'. At the end, I was told to take an extension to write my thesis, as I was fighting my way despite ill-health. But one important experiment I was promised (which I cannot pull off without my lab-based supervisor) has not been allowed because 'my supervisor thinks the funds are a lot at stake'. I am at the moment trying to get a similar project done by forging a collaboration with a friend in another university.

Also I must extend that because I could not be offered a similar project, I was once asked to submit for an MPhil, which was saved because I won a departmental research award. However, it might sound I am panicking for no reason. The reality is I feel the volume of work is not thick enough in the thesis, although my supervisors (of some international repute) say it is enough and a good thesis and good viva will pull it through. After reading so many blogs on here, my concern is, should I believe it?

Has anyone heard of people noted down for a MPhil even after producing one high impact journal publication? Need to hear from you friends?
:-(

R

Has anyone been in the same situation as Korinth?

K

Thanks reenie, for opening the ball on the conversation.

K

Its funny no one seem to reply to my post...probably thinking I am worrying too much?

Maybe no replies means nobody has ever heard of it happening? I know I haven't, but that doesn't mean it can't happen.