can you guys have a debate for me please?!!?

A

Hey guys n gals....i was wondering what you all thought on this subject...is it better to have a phd goin into secondary school teaching or not? do u think its a waste of time doing the phd if you know u want to teach or will it leave you in better stead? just some questions rattling around in my brain!

S

Do you really need a PhD for secondary school teaching? Do not waste your time if you don't have to.

S

I am a teacher who is completing a PhD. No, I don't NEED to do a PhD to teach, I can (and do) do that now with only an undergrad degree, but I WANT to do a PhD for myself. Also, my personal view on it is teachers are educators, though the majority only study enough to be able to do the job. I don't want that for myself - I love learning new things and I am both interested in, and passionate about my PhD topic. Just because I don't NEED the qualification, why shouldn't I do a PhD?

C

My old Chemistry teacher had a PhD, and she was a good teacher and was head of department.

G

Plenty of good hobbies out there if you have time on your hands. Lots of other things will advance a career in teaching more than a PhD.

S

As a pupil, I always liked having PhD teachers. That said, the most amazing teacher I had was a non-PhDer. So, I don't think having a PhD makes you a good teacher, you should do a PhD only because you want to. But it's certainly not a waste of time. My school (high in the league tables) had a greater proportion of PhD teachers than schools lower in the league tables (who I don't think had any really)...take from that what you will, I reckon that was more down to the PhD teachers CHOOSING to apply for jobs at 'good' schools.

A

I had one teacher with a PhD and she was awful. Too head in the clouds and just could not relate to the difficulties we had in understanding things.

P