Chances of being accepted to PhD

M

Hi all. This is my first ever post, although I have been reading other posts for quite some time now. Finding all the info amazingly helpful! I am really hoping to start a PhD in law in Sept/Oct 2010. I have been planning on doing a PhD for as long as I can remember, but it's taken me a little while to get to it. Now that the time is getting closer, I'm really worried about my chances of being accepted and of getting funding.

I did my master's at LSE and missed out on a Distinction by 1% in one subject - very frustrating, but really my own fault for not working hard enough. However, I did get a distinction for my dissertation. In my undergraduate and LLB degrees I got good marks - plenty of distinctions in specific subjects and for my final dissertation, but again missed an overall distinction by a whisker.

I have published one article in a peer reviewed journal (not a UK journal though - but the main journal in the field in the country where I'm from). I also have some teaching experience - I worked as a teaching and research assistant at the Uni in my home country. Got very good student feedback and think that the prof I worked for would give me a really good reference.

I'm a qualified solicitor, but have been working in a different area of law to the one I want to do my PhD on for the last 2.5 years (financial reasons), although I'm about to start work in a firm that is more in line with the PhD subject. Although my master's was in the same general field as my PhD, I have not actually done any work on the specific area/topic of my proposed PhD topic.

I'm not a UK citizen, but hoping that by June next year I would qualify for home fee status.

Unfortunately there is no way that I would be able to self-fund - I really need to get funding.

I'm hoping to do the PhD at LSE or Kings but will apply to UCL and Edinburgh too. And am toying with the idea of applying to Oxford and Cambridge, but don't fancy my chances!