Chances of funding

P

Hi
I am a EU student, what are the chances of getting full funding (fees and stipend) for a PhD?
I am starting to apply for some projects but I still have no response.
Is this normal? How long do they take to respond? Anything like "thank you for your application, bla bla"? would do.

N

Olá Paula,

It seems we're on the same boat! I'm also an EU student and I haven't found many opportunities of full studentships. I'm in the Humanities, where most projects are supported by the AHRC, and they state that EU students are only entitled to a "fees-only" award. In one of the projects I found, I e-mailed the supervisor to confirm if I could receive a full studentship and she answered me that if they really didn't find any qualified candidate from the UK, the AHRC *might* consider paying a maintenance grant to the successful EU student. However this project was in a quite rare, interdisciplinary fields and some of the requirements were very specific, so maybe they were afraid that no British candidate would meet all the requirements (BTW at the end I didn't apply for this project).

I don't know how the other Research Councils work, i.e. if they can fund EU students or not.
(200 words limit...)

N

Another option is to look for studentships offered by the universities or departments themselves. Check the Funding section of the university's webpage or e-mail the department to find about studentships, requirements, deadlines... This can be a though job as there's not a standard like for Research Council grants, and you'll find studentships for UK/EU/overseas students only, studentships for specific fields of research, etc. As an EU student I have received a studentship from my own department to start my PhD with them so yes, it's feasible.