Changing PHD's. Is it a bad idea?

A

Hello,
I am faisal, a new member here.. Just want to ask you guys for ideas regarding a situation I am facing.
So, I am doing my phd now, nearing end of first year, my phd is partially funded and I'm doing it in a university that is ranked below the average.
Meanwhile, I've read an advertisement for a full PHD scholarship that matches my research interests and at a highly ranked university.
I want to apply for it, as I am still in the first year here, and for hopes of better academic and financial situation.
Now, do I tell the new supervisor of my educational situation? I mean that I am planning to drop out of this uni because I am hoping for better research/academic environment? or would it give a very bad impression that I am not very dedicated/serious?
As my research in my current university matches that of the advertised one, I feel its going to add extra "points" to my application, but as i said, it might be bad?
any ideas? how do i approach the new supervisor? and how do i sneak that in the letter of research interests?

thank you all
love
:)

T

Hello Faisal,

I think you should probably be honest in this case, because there is overlap in the research and it may benefit your application. I also think you should make a good case about the funding, rather than you think the new uni would be better, because that seems like a more realistic reason for the move.

A

thank you very much Treeoflife, how do you think I go about saying that? :D

T

You also have to consider references, are you going to tell your advisers that you want to move? Do you need them to be your referees?

I think if you want to take this road, you can only do it directly and honestly, because otherwise it's not going to work. I can't tell you how to word it; all you can do is write it sensitively, directly and honestly in your covering letter when you apply for the PhD.