Collaborative PhD??

R

Hello everyone,
I'm a 28 year old architect working in an architectural firm in India.My boss and I have been collecting information for about a year on a subject.We would like to do a PhD together (preferably part-time/long distance)and present the research as an academic paper.But the catch is,that we don't know if there are universities that would allow us to do a collaborative PhD.Has anyone heard of two persons working on a PhD together?Pls advice me.Thank you!

S

hi rndtransform
welcome to the forum! I have not heard of a collaborative phd --- but I think it is possible -- you first have different aspects in each other's phd -- and then combine them. Phds are supposed to be unique and contributory to knowledge :-) I think its a great idea! Have you identified any potential supervisors, as you'll need some guidance as well.

good luck!
love satchi

R

Dear Satchi,
Thank you for the response.We have drafted out our proposal outlining the various aspects we'd like to separately focus on (the research involves vasthu shastra & temple architecture among other things).I'd identified PRASADA of Cardiff University under the guidance of Dr.Hardy.But unfortunately, two persons cannot pursue the same PhD in Cardiff and I might end up being a research assistant.They also told us that no university accepts 2 students for the same degree.That's why we wanted to know if such a thing was possible at all.Do have have any idea?
Regards,
Sheerja

B