Computational Physics PHD

P

Hey,

I'm currently in my third year of a physics phd. My project has involved a lot of code writing for simulations. It kept me busy for the first two years but now that it is more or less finished, I am just running simulations that take a few weeks to run. I am finding that I have nothing to do during the week while the simulations are running. I've just submitted a paper, updated my thesis, finished a presentation for an upcoming conference and now there is nothing left to do.

Has anyone had a similar problem and if so what do you spend your time doing?

S

Well you seem to have been pretty productive with your time so far! Is your thesis in good shape? If I were you, I would get as much of it written as I could in my spare time. I would also give it to my supervisors to look at - mine took ages to give me feedback on my chapters, so the sooner I could get them started the better! It gets frustrating when its coming closer to submission time and they take weeks to look at one chapter. So I would aim to get the Intro and maybe Methods chapters (if possible) as close to complete as possible to save you time later. Even things like formatting the thesis into chapters, organising the appendices, getting the contents right etc. can take ages, so now would be a good time to get this sorted.