Confused

N

Hi all,

I am a new PhD student and just started lab in UK as an international. Now it is like almost 1 month completed. I have some problem, well it is not problem I need advise. My all lab mates are Britisher and I am not as fluent in English like them. So most of the time I remain quiet when we are not working in lab. But then somewhere inside I am not feeling good as I think they will not accept me in their group or may be they feel I am rude which is not the case in real. Also I am confused what to speak with them when we are outside the lab. As I am completely from different culture. Can anyone please make me understand British culture and which all kind of stuff I can talk about during casual hours.
Advises are highly appreciated.

Regards

D

Does your University have an international relations office? If so, they could put you in contact with other international students. If you feel worried about making conversations with british lab mates, try not too worry as some people are naturally quieter than others anyway but why not join some clubs, sports etc which require less conversation but will allow you time to adjust to the language barrier while making friends.:-)

C

I'm sure that the other people in your lab will understand that you are still getting used to the language and culture, I'm sure many of them will be curious about your culture. You could just start talking to them in breaks but tell them you have trouble with the language still and they will be more patient with you.