de-motivated

K

I am currently doing a PhD in science and it's my 3rd year. I got really sick last year and lost about 8 months of working on it. I'm now beginning to catch up but it is soooo difficult. I feel so demotivated and am struggling to get back into the swing of things. Any advice?

D

It's tough, but the way I looked at it was I knew the work would have to be done at some point and once I got my head round this and started it did become easier, especially when I saw myself achieving things. There's a one goal thread on here which is helpful for many, why not have a look at it and maybe contribute to it and give and get support from others feeling the same?

K

Thanks for the advice, will do :-)

S

Another good one featured on here is www.mytomatoes.com

It's a website that is basically just a timer that goes for 25 minutes then gives you a 5 minute break. Rinse and repeat. It really helps me when I feel demotivated as it forces me to work. Once you start working the motivation actually comes back.

I agree with both of those suggestions. I use the one goal thread to commit myself psychologically to what I'm going to achieve that day, and then to be accountable for it, and I find that really works. But it's important to be realistic about the goals - it's really demotivating to keep failing to reach the day's target - and also to try to break down the work into small steps, they're much more manageable. And the mytomatoes method keeps me at my desk when I have a particular deadline to meet - I can't use that method every day but it is good for forcing me back into a working routine if I've been struggling to stick to it, or if I have to have my head down more than usual.