dealing with critical supervisor

B

Hi,
I know theres a hundred posts like this on the board- but I really am finding it tough dealing with a difficult supervisor. I'm in my third year of a phd, and throughout he has been incredibly critical of my work. He manages to always end on a negative note, even if there has been good things ive done. I know some criticism is helpful, and even i appreciate unhelpful criticism, but this isnt helping. Its almost as if its all a big competition- he worked harder during his phd, he had a worse time, etc etc. I've didnt have much confidence on my work when i started, but now I have almost zero.
Suppose i just wanted a moan. Thanks.

S

i struggled with mine for months. finally i burst into floods of tears and told him how i felt, it did help for a while. you should try and sit down and discuss things with them or maybe your adviser?

B

hi
Thanks- yeah I have consideredit, but I know I'd end up in tears as well and I don't think he'd know how to react.

S

mine looked scared of me crying think it made them see how upset i was about things

R

Hi Birdsandbees,

indeed you do not know how your supervisor will react: He may also be positive regarding your views. He may not be aware of what he is doing to you. Often it is not a bad idea to mention your weakness: "I am sorry but I find it very difficult how you present your criticisms, it upsets me. Are you aware of that? " etc.

B

yeah probably- I'm just not good at that kind of stuff, I tend to get upset too easily and I just keep thinking maybe he's not that bad, maybe its just me being oversensitive.
anyway ive got a meeting with him this afternoon where im going to have to tell him i've got something a bit wrong (nothing major, just a mix up and it wont cause any problems) but i know he's going to jump down my throat- and to be honest im just a little scared of him!

S