demanding undergraduate students

N

I've found this topic really interesting to read, as I only graduated a few months ago (now doing a MSc at same uni). Therefore I remember my undergraduate years very well although I am having a very different experience now. I guess I was a good student, I know I could be a bit dependant at times but that was purely because I was a total perfectionist and panicked about assignments to the point where I couldn't eat or sleep properly (didn't tell them that but I think they knew I was a worrier!) - did well though and got a first so hopefully I was one of the better ones and not talked about too much! Thankfully I'm a bit more chilled out this year.
I remember how irritated I got by the rude students though, they used to moan about tutors all the time and whinge about not getting work back really quickly even though it was never more than 5 weeks, which was stated in the handbook. One of my close friends who I'm still in touch with was quite demanding, not in a rude way it was just how she was - she was also really competitive with marks and always wanted to know what I got before she knew her own mark. One day in the 2nd year we all got essays back and mine wasn't in the collection box - I wasn't that bothered and was going to just wait a few more days but she insisted on grabbing my arm and marching to our tutors office and asking where it was - seriously I was mortified, she was like an outraged parent!! I would never do anything like that, I just let them get on with it and only ask anything if I had a problem, even asking for references for my MSc applications felt a bit demanding!