Developing Thick Research Skin?

C

I am very sensitive to perceived criticism and I think I need to develop a thick research skin. I'll be presenting at a couple of conferences / research groups this summer and I'm a bit nervous. I already freeze / get angry and defensive / fall apart when my work is under attack. Especially as I know there ARE problems with my work that I need to fix. Deep down I know this is just a natural part of academia and I need to get over it. Does anyone have any tools / techniques / tips for dealing with criticism without feeling like you're under attack?

S

Hi,
I understand that completely - I feel the same way.
I've had some horrendous experiences in my university recently which have given me a WHOLE different insight into how academics operate. Here's my tuppence worth:
1 - Academics have massive egos and like to hear the sound of their own voice
2 - There are all sorts of crappy politics going on behind the scene and sometimes one academic can be point-scoring against another academic (who is your supervisor) through you.
3 - Anything an academic says is designed to boost their own profile etc
4 - An academic always has to say something. If they're on a panel etc then they're going to say something. Even if it's the best work in the world they're going to find something to say which will usually be critical or incorporate some research of their own so as to impress all the other academics!!!!!!!!
My suggestion - if you know what the problems are try to figure out how to fix them. Don't worry too much about these idiots.
Don't take it personally - we are all nervous in these situations. Just stay positive and keep on going!!!!!!!!!!! 8-)

K